Affirmations and Mantras – How I Cope

One of the toughest results of the November election was that my anxiety reached new and astounding peaks. I’ve always been anxious and a little depressed, but suddenly, I couldn’t sleep. I found myself sobbing in the bathroom at my job. I was afraid to leave the house. Things had been bad before, but this time felt a little different.

This time was different because I did end up seeking help.

Obviously nothing is as good as a trained medical professional, but I’ve found that mantras or positive affirmations have really helped calm me down. Before I did find help, I tried so hard to google and find the best affirmations, so here are mine.

Your past mistakes are there to guide you — not define you.

Believe in the person you want to become.

Out of difficulties will grow new beginnings.

I am in control of my own thoughts and my own life.

Feel the fear and do it anyway.

These are little things I tell myself when I feel my mind start racing. When I am up at night and I can’t stop thinking about that one time I said something incredibly rude to my friend, I just quietly repeat to myself “your past mistakes are there to guide you – not define you.” They definitely help. If you have any mantras or affirmations that you feel comfortable sharing, I’d love to hear them. 

StockSnap_NCZXCW6YTW_phixr

It isn’t just about sharing tips and tricks, like these affirmations and mantras, but we need to start having more conversations about mental illness. I highly recommend MakeItOk.org as a resource.

And, if you’re feeling suicidal, you are not alone. Please reach out. You don’t even have to call – you can text now. 

12 thoughts on “Affirmations and Mantras – How I Cope

  1. It’s amazing how saying something (a mantra or just verbalizing a thought) can bring calm and help “decrazy” some of your thoughts. I have to do that when I can’t sleep either.

    Like

  2. Affirmations are something new I have been trying recently. My simplest and most effective one has been “I can do it”. It has helped in multiple scenarios including my writing, getting things I am not too fond of like cleaning done, to just getting to sleep(currently finding it very difficult to sleep at nights). And yes, we should have conversations around mental health and I am glad more people are doing it now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

